basutoland (basotholand)

Basutoland was Lesotho's pre-independence name. Independence from Britain, and the name of Lesotho, came officially on 4 October 1966. The country became a constitutional monarchy with an elected bicameral parliament consisting of a 60-seat National Assembly and a 33-seat Senate. Unfortunately, like in many other African countries, independence brought along local corruption and home-made repression.